ENTJ….whaaaaat?

If you haven’t taken the Meyers-Briggs test, you need to – like right now. If you don’t know what it is or why it would benefit you, stick around. The Meyers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) test is a personality test that tells you many different things you didn’t know about yourself just by answering a set of questions. It tells you where you get your energy from, how you choose to make decisions, whether you prefer to be spontaneous or organized, a lot of things. It is something interesting to find out so that way you know where you stand. I thought it would be a great opportunity this week to go over the results of mine.

** Disclaimer : I am not a expert MBTI person, I am just giving my opinion of my MB typing.**

I am an ENTJ.

E – Extrovert : I get my energy through people. When I’m around people is when I feel most comfortable. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy alone time, because that wouldn’t be true. I do enjoy having time by myself to relax and rejuvenate my mind and body. I just tend to get more energy when I am involved in something that is in a group like going out to the bars, or having a class discussion, or many other things.

 

N – Intuitive : I get my information by using logic and finding patterns. Rather using my senses to determine how I feel about a situation, I like to use what information I already know in order to make my decisions. This especially rings true in my life because I don’t like to make uniformed decisions. I prefer to research absolutely every angle in order to come to a complete decision.

 

T – Thinking : This goes hand-in-hand with the intuitive side of my personality. I am considered a head thinker over a heart thinker. I choose to make my decisions based off of logic and not based off of my emotions. I try to not let emotions get in the way and cloud my judgment.

 

J – Judging : I fair much better in life when things are planned out and organized. I don’t enjoy winging things because it makes me feel like I’m out of control. I prefer to have my life planned out and have goals rather than just waiting for things to happen for me.

 

I enjoy Meyers-Briggs because I think it helps me define my quirks. It makes it easier to understand why I am the way I am. It helps me understand how I approach different scenarios and problems. It also really makes it more understandable for my peers to really get to know me and the way I think.

 

One the things I’m not the happiest about is that it can spotlight your weaknesses as well. One of my weakness that I found out through the MBTI is that I’m not very sensitive to others emotions. Although that can be harsh to hear, its still better to know that so I can be more aware in situations where it would come into play. It makes you recognize which things you need to spend time and work on.

 

Do yourself a favor and take the quiz!

Image Courtesy of Pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

