Why Planning is my Personal Zen….

Do you enjoy chaos? Are you only able to be productive in a dysfunctional environment? Lucky you. I wish I had an ounce of focus some individuals can have when the area surrounding them, their brain, and their life are in a mess. No seriously, I’m jealous of you. I wish I was able to block out everything around me and still be able to focus on the task at hand. Unfortunately, I was blessed with a memory only as good as Dory’s in Finding Nemo. Like you can say something to me and in less than two minutes I will already have forgotten what we just discussed. At times it can get frustrating because I genuinely want to remember these things, I’m just unable to. Nevertheless, I have many tactics in place to make sure I stay on top of current events in my life.

Being a student with a full-time job, I have a pretty hectic schedule and work load. I have to not only balance school assignments, but at times I would be required to work on training or take my work home. I can tell you that maintaining a social life on top of that is a downright mess, and not even a hot mess. STRAIGHT MESS. However, as cliché as it sounds, I literally write everything down. I am so dedicated to making sure my life is in order that I dropped $80 on a customized planner. I know it’s insane, but it works – like really works. I feel like its beneficial for me to mention that I also have an obsessive personality which is controlled via my planner. If I have all of my things color coded and in their respective sections I’m able to breathe in the relief of knowing what’s due and when and breathe out the obsessive, control freak tendencies. Once I have my life written down and scheduled, it allows me to stay on top of things so I’m not scrambling which lets me have way less stress than I would without it. And this issue isn’t just with keeping my due dates and events in their respective calendar bubbles, I also enjoy having clean surroundings. Everything on my desk has a place and it is always put right back where I got it. Just the slight movement of something that has a place can send my whole mood in disarray. It sounds silly – and I know that – but once you have your life organized, everything just falls into place. Why would you not take the opportunity to make your life less stressful? Once my life is free of clutter, I’m able to focus (to the best of my Dory-like abilities) on what’s in front of me.

Honestly, I can’t sing enough praises for planners and their ability to help you plan ahead. If you use it and use it correctly, it can help you out tremendously. Why not try to make your life as stress-free as possible? What could go wrong? Straighten your life up! Take the opportunity to think about your goals and how you’re going to achieve them and write it down! And hey, if you’re looking for a planner to get started – my girl Erin Condren can hook you up with some amazing resources.

 

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

