A Letter to My Future Daughter…

With all of the media surrounding women’s rights at this time it really made me think about where I stand on these issues. More importantly, it made think about how broken and divided our would is at this exact moment. At anytime these days you can find someone who doesn’t believe they’re being treated fairly and like they don’t have the support they deserve. That honestly breaks my heart. When it comes to women, we are used to hanging out in the background, but in all reality we have a lot to be proud of. Being a female is a great and unique thing. I don’t want anyone to feel like being a female is anything less than extraordinary. This had me really thinking, the person I would want to know to embrace being the wonderful female that you are would be my future daughter. Here’s what I have to say:

 

Dear future daughter (whoever you may be),littlegirl2

There are so many things I want to tell you. I want to tell you how special you are and how you have a support system like no other behind you. There shouldn’t be a second in the day where you feel alone. I am always here for any need you might have. I have managed to come up with a couple key points to show you how I feel about who you are and who you’ll become.

You are beautiful. Now I know there shouldn’t be any reason why you would need reassurance on that, I’m here to tell you. There are going to be times when you have too many pimples, or questionable hairstyles, or less than attractive wardrobe choices, but you and your journey to get to who you are has made you beautiful. You don’t need any kind of validation. Know in your heart that what is most beautiful is inside of you and that can’t be changed. Although a small obsession with cosmetics like your mother is totally normal too for when you feel like your day could use some color to your lips or a little more highlighter.

You are strong. There is no doubt in my mind that you’ll go through things in life where you feel as though you can’t come out victorious. I’m here to tell you that if you put your mind to it, you can achieve anything. You will be tried time and time again based on your opinions and your beliefs, but stay true to yourself. Never let anyone tell you differently and stand up to anyone who tells you otherwise.

You are smart. You will succeed at anything you want to if you work for it. Keep your head up and stay focused. Stay in school and try your best because you want to make a good life for yourself. Use your brain to decipher between right and wrong and use that as a guide. I may not agree with you at all times, but I respect you for your opinion and the fact that you can sustain them for yourself. I would just be proud to have a daughter who is steadfast in her beliefs.

You are brave. You can get through anything. Stand up for yourself because what you believe in has value. Fight for the greater good in the world and don’t give up. Help others even when you know others will not follow suit. Pave your own way and don’t look back.

You are loved. You are absolutely, most definitely loved. Do not think for a second that my stance on that will ever change . From the bottom of my heart I will always love and be proud of the woman you have and will become. I can’t believe I would be so lucky to have a daughter who is an individual and who has her own brain and her own thoughts. I am so incredibly proud to call you mine.

YOU.  ARE.  PERFECT.

       your supporter, life-giver, teacher, confidant, number one fan,

xo  mom

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

Leave a Reply

